I believe that women have become too dependent on makeup.  I don’t mean that putting on a little mascara or lipstick is something to be frowned upon, but I do believe that it should be used in moderation.  I know that I often feel panicky if I’ve left the house without putting on some mascara.  Women have been taught for decades that going natural isn’t good enough and that looking like a barbie is better.  I disagree.  I know that some people might bring up the point that I wear quite a lot of makeup, but I wear it not with the intention of covering up every blemish and “correcting” things, but accentuating what I already have.  I’ve dealt with lots of body issues in my life, and by doing this post, I hope I can let go of some of those issues and start to respect my natural self a little bit more.

I also want to bring up another point: mean girls.  I don’t mean the movie, but the real mean girls.  The ones who like to tear everyone else down so that they feel above them.  I’ve been bullied before.  Called a loser for being homeschooled, called fat and worthless, among other things.  It took me a while to grasp the idea that maybe the things she was saying to me were really things she didn’t have the nerve to recognize in herself, but eventually I did.  I openly talked about my situation, and tried not to act like a victim, and the verbal abuse did ease up.  I know that a lot of pre-teens and teenagers, male and female, have similar experiences and it infuriates me to no end.  But what infuriates me even more, is the people who are their own bully.  They call themselves fat and ugly, and believe themselves to be unworthy of love.  They think “why can’t I be _____ like they are?”I have to admit that I’ve thought those things about myself , and I believe that most everyone has at some point.  But it needs to end.  We all need to wake up and realize that we’re all beautiful being different.  This isn’t the kind of world where everyone is exactly the same (thank goodness!) and it’s about time we came to terms with that.  So, without further adieu, I vow to respect myself, have more confidence, and not freak out if I leave the house looking natural.  Who wants to join me?

When you are content to be simply yourself and don’t compare or compete, everybody will respect you.

~ Lao Tzu

