I do believe that bread pudding is just one of those unfortunate foods whose reputation precedes it – quite like oatmeal, which much like this bread pudding, is actually way better than most people assume (unless it’s that salty nasty instant crap, in which cause I can understand the bad rep.) Fun fact: I will be attempting to convert my madre to an oatmeal fan tomorrow morning, I’ll let you know how that turns out.

photogenic? no. delicious? why yes!

Bread pudding just really doesn’t sound  at all appetizing, again, like oatmeal, but since I had just the exact right amount of leftover pumpkin puree going to waste in the fridge, and because I’m in the mood for all things pumpkin this time of year, I decided to give it a shot. Very good move on my part.

Question: who in their right mind makes BREAD pudding the same day they decide to take it easy on the sugar and carbs? Answer: apparently people like me – aka people who think deserts trump diets.

Moral: Get over your fears of soggy cafeteria bread mush (ew) and try this recipe – its light, cinnamon-y and perfect for fall, just like a combination of pumpkin pie and baked french toast, and there’s really nothing pudding-y about it, I promise. Perfect for chilly nights with a nice hot cup of tea – I’d say it’s for sure a keeper.

What are your favorite fall deserts? I’d love to hear:)

Dairy Free Pumpkin Bread Pudding

adapted from Smitten Kitchen

1 ¼ cup unsweetened soy milk (up it to 1 ½ for a slightly moister pudding)

3/4 cup canned solid-packed pumpkin
1/2 cup sugar
2 large eggs plus 1 yolk
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 (or more to taste) teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/8 teaspoon ground allspice
Pinch of ground cloves
5 cups cubed (1-inch) day-old baguette or crusty bread
3/4 stick Earth Balance butter melted

Grease an 8×8 glass pyrex dish by melting ¾ stick Earth Balance vegan butter in the oven. Take out of oven and toss cubed bread in the melted butter. Stir together all remaining ingredients in a separate bowl and pour mixture of bread crumbs, coating evenly. Bake for 25-30 minutes, until custard is set.

