Although I do love summer food, and will no doubt be missing it within a matter of weeks, at the moment I feel like fall is the perfect season for baking and eating. Pumpkins, sweet potatoes, warm apple cider, hot oatmeal in the mornings…I think I’d be A-okay with eating warm hearty food for the rest of my life.

There’s just something about this cool weather that makes me want to curl up in a chunky sweater, sip on hot tea with honey and read The Legend of Sleepy Hollow and Edgar Allan Poe. Random I know, but apparently my literary tastes fluctuate with the seasons as well. (Even random-er: the Legend of Sleepy Hollow will forever remind me of the Halloween episode of the children’s show Wishbone from the 90s. Anyone remember that? Best show EVER.)

Anywho, back on topic, apple cake is pretty much the perfect fall desert. I made this a couple weeks back when I was still in the thick of it with my pneumonia/sinus infection/broncitis episode, when the urge for cake was all that could pry me from my death bed. (I’m not even being that dramatic.) And it was totally worth it, let me tell you. Which makes me think, if a household of sickies can demolish a cake in 2 days flat, imagine how good it must taste when you’re well. Maybe I should make it again to see…couldn’t hurt.

What’s your favorite fall/winter desert?

