The above is something I (and a lot of fellow vegans) get asked a lot.  Some of the other questions include “So, what do you eat?”, “Wait…so you can’t eat milk?  Or…cheese?  Oh my gosh!  You can’t eat butter?!”, and those are the mild ones!  Since I have been a vegetarian for my whole life, I thought that if I had to cut anything else out of my diet, I would starve to death – but here I am, one year later, and I’m not dead yet.  One year ago today I went to a local nutritionist with a mile-long list of really annoying symptoms that just wouldn’t go away and he said that I was most likely allergic to dairy.  Dairy was something that I consumed an obscene amount of every day – think cereal w/ milk, bagel w/ cream cheese for breakfast, grilled cheese for lunch, something equally cheesy and un-vegan for dinner and then there was dessert.  So I had a bit of a panic attack when he told me to cut out all dairy and sugar for a month, but the panic attacks got less frequent when I found out that our local cupcakery (Lucy & Leo’s) had vegan Wednesdays, that you could make a cheese-less pizza that tastes pretty darn good, that soy milk is pretty tasty too, that we have a vegan restaurant in town (which has amazing vegan mac n’ cheese!) and that there’s a really good brand of dairy-free ice cream!

As far as how I feel goes, I feel great!!  I dropped thirteen pounds in the first week, my headaches (the ones that I got every day at 4 o’ clock), stomachaches, and the rest of the nasty symptoms disappeared completely!

So, here are some photos from my journey – enjoy!

Roasted potatoes, carrots and garlic

popcorn with soy sauce and nutritional yeast (I'm not really sure what nutritional yeast is, but it taste good!!)

pasta salad with roasted red peppers, black olives, greek olives, artichoke hearts, garlic and cherry tomatoes

vegan blueberry cobbler with blueberries from our garden

yummy spaghetti sauce made from homegrown tomatoes

homemade, vegan biscuits (try them with honey and strawberry jam!)

vegan chocolate cupcakes with butter cream frosting for the Fourth of July

homemade bagels (I thought a bagel couldn't be good without cream cheese but Earth Balance is amazing on them!)

stir fried tofu and veggies

homemade, vegan blueberry muffins

homemade, vegan peanut butter cookies

vegan, pumpkin Lucy & Leo's cupcake!

I hope you enjoy looking at the pictures as much as I enjoyed eating the foods!  I definitely recommend going vegan – have any good vegan recipes?  Let me know!

