Are the one day of the week I can sleep in past 8, are designated “homework days”, are a time to lounge around in pajamas all day, play with my kitten, eat a sugary breakfast, clean my room that has been getting increasinly filthier throughout the week, NOT stuff my feet into pointe shoes, put on my work uniform, or lug around 45 pounds of textbooks in my backback. In short, sundays are now the best day of the week for me.

Sometimes I can’t believe how lucky I used to be….seriously, I spent a solid 95% of my K-12 years in ratty, worn-in, comfortable pajamas. I slept till 9, okay maybe 10, like every day. I did my schoolwork at night because that’s when I worked best. Sigh. I had it made. Sometimes during the week lately, when I’m already done with all of my classes by the time I would have been just waking up back in highschool, I reallyyy miss those days. And I totally see the allure of the FSU “uniform” that I swear every single sorority girl wears to class: sweatpants or leggings tucked into uggs, or flipflops in the summer, hair piled on top of the head, FSU hoodie, preferably accompanied by gigantic sunglasses and a tall frappuchino. I definitely see the appeal…real clothes at 6am just seem so innapropriate.

However…since I’ve promised myself to make an honest effort to look as un-slob like as possible this semester, I have to find my comfort in other forms. Such as sleeping in till the luxurious hour of 9 on sunday mornings, and then waking up and making these pancakes. They’re dense, moist and cakey, and thanks to the wheat flour and lack of (much) sugar, they feel so much healthier than your standard buttermilk pancake. So for those of you out there that have to (or chose to) wear uncomfortable, nice looking clothes, and have to wake up at 6am every day of the week, I’d say you earned yourself some pancakes. To those of you who still get to sleep in till 10 everyday and stumble to your 11 am class in pajamas…I hate you. Not really, but seriously people…it’s college, put on some real clothes.

Whole Wheat Cinnamon Pancakes

recipe from sarahjio.com 

2 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
2 tablespoons sugar (optional, I use about a teaspoon at most)
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
A sprinkle of nutmeg (all you need is a little)
1 egg
3 tablespoons canola oil (or any vegetable oil, or just use butter)
2 cups plain soy milk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 large banana, mashed

Note: You can also add other fruit, such as blueberries if you want. Surprisingly the banana and blueberries flavors don’t clash at all, so add away.

Mix together flour, sugar, baking powder, soda, salt and spices. In a seperate bowl combine wet ingredients, and mashed up banana (no need to mash the heck out of it, just enough to get rid of the large clumps that don’t cook through very well.) Combine the wet and dry ingredients, stir together. Heat skiller over medium high heat, and cook pancakes until golden brown. These are great to make ahead and freeze for later. Just pop them in the toaster and you can have pancakes any day of the week.

 

 

 

 

 

